2 euro Finland 2004, Fifth Enlargement of the European Union in 2004

Euro 2 commemorative coins Finland 2004 Enlargement of the European Union

€2 commemorative coins - Finland 2004, Fifth Enlargement of the European Union in 2004.

Commemorative 2 euro coins from Finland

Description: the design describes a stylised pillar from which the sprouts grow upwards. The sprouts represent the enlargement of the European Union. The pillar represents the foundation for growth. Near the pillar there are the letters 'EU'. In the upper part of the coin there is the year '2004'. Twelve stars, together with the year, surround the design.

Reverse: left from the coin centre face value: 2, on the right inscription: EURO; in the background of the inscription a map of Europe; in the background of the map vertically six parallel lines ending on both sides with five-pointed stars (the reverse is common for all euro coins)

Face value:  2 euro
Issuing volume: 1 million coins
FDI: 1 June 2004
FDC: 1 July 2004
Diameter: 25.75 mm
Weight: 8.50 g
Composition: BiAlloy (Nk/Ng), ring Cupronickel (75% copper - 25% nickel clad on nickel core), center Nickel brass (75% copper - 20% zinc - 5% nickel)
Quality: Proof, BU, UNC
Design: Pertti Mäkinen is credited with the design of the Finnish 2004 €2 Euro Commemorative coin.
Designer / Engraver Inscriptions: Initial of the designer: 'M'
€2 Edge Inscription: The Finnish €2 coin edge inscription is 'SUOMI FINLAND', followed by three lion heads.
Mint Location: Rahapaja Oy, in Helsinki-Vantaa, Finland.
Mint Master Marks: Finnish Mint director, Raimo Makkonen: last initial ('M'). Located to the left of the designer inscription; bottom right of the inner circle.
This is the first €2 Commemorative Issue for Finland.

2004 enlargement of the European Union by ten new Member States
The 2004 enlargement of the European Union was the largest single expansion of the European Union (EU), in terms of territory, number of states and population; however it was not the largest in terms of gross domestic product (wealth). It occurred on 1 May 2004.
The simultaneous accessions concerned the following countries: Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia. Seven of these were part of the former Eastern Bloc, with one from the former Yugoslavia and the remaining two being Mediterranean islands.
Part of the same wave of enlargement was the accession of Bulgaria and Romania in 2007, who were unable to join in 2004, but constitute according to the Commission part of the fifth enlargement.