2 euro Finland 2008, 60th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

Finnish commemorative 2 euro coins 200860th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

Finland is among four countries in the Eurozone to issue a €2 commemorative honoring the 60th anniversary of Universal Human Rights.

Commemorative 2 euro coins from Finland

Description: The inner part of the coin depicts a human figure seen through a heart-shaped hole in a stone wall. The text HUMAN RIGHTS is inscribed under the heart, and the year mark is engraved above it. The indication of the issuing country FI, the letter K (initial of the artist Tapio Kettunen) and the mint mark appear at the bottom of the design. The twelve stars of the European Union surround the design on the outer ring of the coin.

Reverse: left from the coin centre face value: 2, on the right inscription: EURO; in the background of the inscription a map of Europe; in the background of the map vertically six parallel lines ending on both sides with five-pointed stars (the reverse is common for all euro coins)

Issuing volume: 100,000 coins
Date of issue: 5 September 2008
Face value:       2 euro
Diameter:         25.75 mm
Thickness:       2.2 mm
Weight:            8.5 gr
Composition: BiAlloy (Nk/Ng), ring Cupronickel (75% copper - 25% nickel clad on nickel core), center Nickel brass (75% copper - 20% zinc - 5% nickel)
Design: Tapio Kettunen is credited as the sculptor for the Finnish 2008 €2 Euro Commemorative coin.
Designer / Engraver Inscriptions: Initial of the sculptor: 'K'
€2 Edge Inscription: The Finnish €2 coin edge inscription is 'SUOMI FINLAND', followed by three lion heads.
Mint Location: Rahapaja Oy, in Helsinki-Vantaa, Finland.
Mint Marks: Mintmark of the Mint of Finland: the mint's former logo (before 2010): a stylised cornucopia with coins. Located above the 5 o'clock star, inner circle.
National Identification: Abbreviation: 'FI'; Finland.
Notes: This coin's design is only one of four designs out of all Euro coin designs to have words written in the English language.

Universal Declaration of Human Rights
The Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR) is a declaration adopted by the United Nations General Assembly on 10 December 1948 at the Palais de Chaillot, Paris. The Declaration arose directly from the experience of the Second World War and represents the first global expression of rights to which all human beings are inherently entitled. The full text is published by the United Nations on its website.

The Declaration consists of thirty articles which have been elaborated in subsequent international treaties, regional human rights instruments, national constitutions, and other laws. The International Bill of Human Rights consists of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, and the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights and its two Optional Protocols. In 1966, the General Assembly adopted the two detailed Covenants, which complete the International Bill of Human Rights. In 1976, after the Covenants had been ratified by a sufficient number of individual nations, the Bill took on the force of international law.