2 euro Italy 2005, First anniversary of the signing of the European Constitution

2 euro coins Italy 2005 European Constitution

€2 commemorative coins - Italy 2005, First anniversary of the signing of the European Constitution.

Commemorative 2 euro coins from Italy
Subject of commemoration: 1st anniversary of the signing of the European Constitution

Description of the design: The centre of the coin features Europa and the bull, with Europa holding a pen and the text of the European Constitution. To the upper left of the image is the mintmark ‘R’. The initials of engraver Maria Carmela Colaneri, ‘MCC’, appear on the lower left edge of the coin’s central part. The year of mintage is shown in the top right of the image above the head of the bull. Positioned just off-centre at the bottom of the image is the monogram of the Italian Republic, ‘RI’. The words ‘COSTITUZIONE EUROPEA’ form a semicircle along the outer ring of the coin beneath the central image, while twelve stars are depicted on the remainder of the outer ring.

Issuing volume: 18 million coins
Issue date: 29.10.2005
Face value: 2 euro
Diameter: 25.75 mm
Weight: 8.50 g
Alloy: Bimetal: CuNi, nordic gold
Quality: Proof, BU, UNC
Design: Maria Carmela Colaneri is credited as the engraver for the Italian 2005 €2 Euro Commemorative coin.
Designer / Engraver Inscriptions: 'M.C.C.' Initials of the engraver:
€2 Edge Inscription: The Italian €2 coin edge inscription is '2', followed by one star, repeated six times alternately upright and inverted:
Mint Location: Istituto Poligrafico e Zecca dello Stato (IPZS) (State Printing Office and Mint), in Rome, Italy.
Mint Marks: Mintmark of the Rome mint: the letter 'R'. Located in the center of the upper left side, inner circle.
National Identification: Symbol: Stylized 'RI'; Repubblica Italiana (Republic of Italy).
Notes: The design elements of Europa and the Bull are also present on the standard issue Greek €2 coin.

Treaty establishing a Constitution for Europe
The Treaty establishing a Constitution for Europe (TCE), (commonly referred to as the European Constitution or as the Constitutional Treaty), was an unratified international treaty intended to create a consolidated constitution for the European Union (EU). It would have replaced the existing European Union treaties with a single text, given legal force to the Charter of Fundamental Rights, and expanded Qualified Majority Voting into policy areas which had previously been decided by unanimity among member states.
The Treaty was signed on 29 October 2004 by representatives of the then 25 member states of the European Union. It was later ratified by 18 member states, which included referendums endorsing it in Spain and Luxembourg. However the rejection of the document by French and Dutch voters in May and June 2005 brought the ratification process to an end.
Following a period of reflection, the Treaty of Lisbon was created to replace the Constitutional Treaty. This contained many of the changes that were originally placed in the Constitutional Treaty but was formulated as amendments to the existing treaties. Signed on 13 December 2007, the Lisbon Treaty entered into force on 1 December 2009.