2 euro Portugal 2008, 60th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

Portuguese commemorative 2 euro coins 2008 - 60th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

Commemorative 2 euro coins from Portugal

Description: The inner part of the coin features the Portuguese coat of arms at the top, above the name of the issuing country PORTUGAL, the year mark and a geometric design in the bottom half of the centre. The legend 60 ANOS DA DECLARAÇÃO UNIVERSAL DOS DIREITOS HUMANOS adorns edge of the bottom two thirds of the inner ring and is followed by the inscription Esc. J. Duarte INCM in very small characters. The twelve stars of the European Union surround the design on the outer ring of the coin.

Reverse: left from the coin centre face value: 2, on the right inscription: EURO; in the background of the inscription a map of Europe; in the background of the map vertically six parallel lines ending on both sides with five-pointed stars (the reverse is common for all euro coins)

Issuing volume:  1,035,000 coins
Date of issue:  2008
Face value:     2 euro
Diameter:        25.75 mm
Thickness:       2.2 mm
Weight:            8.5 gr
Composition: BiAlloy (Nk/Ng), ring Cupronickel (75% copper - 25% nickel clad on nickel core), center Nickel brass
Design Credit: João Duarte is credited as the sculptor for the Portuguese 2008 €2 Euro Commemorative coin.
Designer / Engraver Inscriptions: 'Esc. J. Duarte' (Esc. is the Portuguese abbreviation for 'sculptor') Title, first initial and last name of the sculptor:
€2 Edge Inscription: The Portuguese €2 coin edge inscription is comprised of seven castles and five shields:
Mint Location: Imprensa Nacional e Casa da Moeda (INCM) (National Currency Mint House), in Lisbon, Portugal
Mint Marks: Abbreviation of the Lisbon Mint: INCM. Located at the 1 o'clock position, inner circle.
National Identification: Text: 'PORTUGAL'
Notes: Portugal is among four countries in the Eurozone to issue a €2 commemorative honoring the 60th anniversary of Universal Human Rights.

Universal Declaration of Human Rights
The Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR) is a declaration adopted by the United Nations General Assembly on 10 December 1948 at the Palais de Chaillot, Paris. The Declaration arose directly from the experience of the Second World War and represents the first global expression of rights to which all human beings are inherently entitled. The full text is published by the United Nations on its website.

The Declaration consists of thirty articles which have been elaborated in subsequent international treaties, regional human rights instruments, national constitutions, and other laws. The International Bill of Human Rights consists of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, and the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights and its two Optional Protocols. In 1966, the General Assembly adopted the two detailed Covenants, which complete the International Bill of Human Rights. In 1976, after the Covenants had been ratified by a sufficient number of individual nations, the Bill took on the force of international law.